Maclean’s Muslim Law Students Learn: Nothing Comes Without a Price

A fascinating nugget came out of TVO’s Steve Paikin’s appearance on Dennis Miller’s radio show the other day. It seems that the three Osgoode Hall Law School students fronting radical Islamist Mohammed Elmasry’s Human Rights Commission complaints against Maclean’s magazine – Khurram Awan, Naseem Mithoowani, and Muneeza Sheikh – confided to Paikin after their appearance on his show, that they are having trouble finding articling jobs, because they are being seen as anti-freedom-of-speech. Listen to the fine 8-minute interview from Miller’s show here.

When they signed up to be the media-friendly faces of Elmasry’s Canadian Islamic Congress in its assault on our centuries-old tradition of freedom of expression, perhaps they never considered that there may be consequences to their fun little adventure. What they ended up with was a very expensive learning experience, one that has already hurt their careers before their careers have even begun. Tough for them. Meanwhile, Mr. “every Israeli citizen is a legitimate terrorist target” Elmasry should be ashamed of himself, for exploiting impressionable young people to further his own agenda. Then again, he can’t help himself – that’s just what his ilk do.

UPDATE 2008-06-02 – Despite protestations to the contrary from an anonymous commenter below, it seems that Mr. Khurram Awan did indeed have trouble finding a legitimate articling job coming out of law school. Why else would he be in the employ of Mr. Faisal Kutty, the lead “prosecutor” in the BC Human Rights “trial” going on this week? (See 12:10pm entry from Andrew Coyne’s liveblog of Day 1 of the hearing). Say, isn’t it a conflict of interest for Kutty to be examining his own employee in the “trial”? Just asking…

13 Comments

Filed under Free Speech For Me Not For Thee, Islamic Propaganda in Canada, Left-Wing Causes Celebre, Notorious Canadians, The Confusion of The Left, Youth Indoctrination

13 responses to “Maclean’s Muslim Law Students Learn: Nothing Comes Without a Price

  1. Gee my heart aches for them, I see Muneeza continues to google herself and visit my blog.

  2. philanthropist

    They obviously didn’t learn anything at school so a real law firm would be stupid to hire them.

    But, universities in the islamic countries are complete failures too – so they should have no problem getting a job in an islamic country since they don’t really have to know anything anyhow, all they need are the right connections.

  3. Moose

    FYI – these students have already completed their articles and will be called to the bar next month. As of June they should probably be called “the lawyers”. I know them all personally – and they have all found employment that they are happy with. I will pass on your wishes though –

    Also Blazingcatfur: what is your obsession with Muneeza?

  4. TnT

    ah. This blog never fails to offer a smile, does it.

    Moose both blazing and flaggman love to spend time checking their stats and ip addresses etc., and pretending to be internet detectives, as if they ‘got you’, or, something. it gives them a sense of power.

    But, ‘the other side’ is juvenile.

  5. “Moose” – I guess you are calling Steve Paikin a liar. I’ll take his word over an anonymous “Moose”. I have no doubt that the students said what they said to Paikin – perhaps, though, he misspoke when he said articling jobs when they were talking about post-articling jobs.

    As for TnT – another empty personal attack lacking any connection to the issues raised in the post.

    For the record, I do check my blog stats regularly, and can proudly report that I average more than 125 unique visitors per day. And for the record, I only have access to the IP addresses of those who leave comments on this blog. I don’t pay for the upgrade that would allow me to see the IP addresses of simple visitors.

  6. TnT

    I see. An ’empty personal attack’. What would you call attacking someone after checking your log because they dared comment via a catholic school board server?

    What would call referring to someone as a ‘troll’ because a conversation got heated and it didn’t agree with you?

    What would you call throwing blanket jeers of ‘juvenile’ to the ‘other side’ like a 2 year old kid?

    Face it Flaggman. You cheapen your message by lowering yourself like that. I’ve said it. And so have several other visitors. There is a delicious irony in your calling the left ‘juvenile’.

  7. Dignifying TnT with a response one more time, I challenge any interested reader to compare Flaggman’s Canada with TnT’s blog here, and tell me which is juvenile:

    http://realcommonsense-tnt.blogspot.com/

    And, for accuracy’s sake, I have never used the word “troll” on this blog. I have, however, called you a “stalker”. (And was that you who attacked from the Catholic School Board’s computer system? Why so sensitive?)

    For those of you who haven’t figured it out already: I have no respect for those who hide their vitriol and lies behind nicknamed anonymity. My name is Neil Flagg of Toronto, Ontario, and I do not try to hide it. Mr. TnT, why do you hide who you are? Let me know if you object to me publishing your name in these comments later today.

  8. TnT

    Yes you did Neil. https://flaggman.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/prager-on-abortion/#comments

    Oh my god, you got me. Oh the shame of my blog. You only have to click my name to see it.

    You are a very paranoid individual. I don’t know why. When someone disagrees here, you become very defensive, you seem to have this paranoia, that somehow that I might appear under different aliases or something. You know very well who I am, you emailed me when I first commented here, so you are well aware of my identity. I have never commented here under any other name other than TnT which are my initials (which you know well). I, an a few others a maybe somewhat amused by you being so concerned about people who leave comments on your blog, that you ‘investigate them’. Would it make any difference to anyone proclaiming my name far and wide? Would it change the fact that you resort to calling me a troll (yes you did!) a stalker, and begin theorizing that somehow I am some sort of online monster that stalks? Will you feel a true sense of triumph publishing my name? I somehow bet you would.

    No I don’t know who the person is on the catholic school board servers. But I did smile that it seemed to be your ace in the conversation, as it has been multiple times.

    No I am just a person with an opinion. I find your politics of division to be saddening. You’re not the only one, there are other blogs out there that do it. Thankfully, there are others that are a little more mature and can have a conversation without resorting to getting paranoid about ‘stalkers’. I disagree with you Neil, that’s just all there is to it. This is what happens when you post your opinions publicly, someone with a different one, just might, dare to challenge yours. Now after having experienced what it is like to try and comment here, and seeing how you treat others here much the same way, it’s hard for me to take this seriously, really.

    And as for comparing blogs, my blog is a rag tag collection of posts done in 5 minutes over coffee once in a while for fun. Just keep in mind, that what you are comparing to.

    Hold your head up high.

  9. Did you just do what I think you did – deride and dismiss your very own blog, just to take another shot at me? I’ve now seen it all. Pathological!

  10. TnT

    you’re a card Flaggman, really you are.

  11. Pingback: Steynianism 159 « Free Mark Steyn!

  12. Moose

    Flaggman – my source is reliable. I am married to one of the students 🙂

  13. I’ve been involved in taxes for lengthier then I care to admit, both on the individual side (all my working life!!) and from a legal standpoint since satisfying the bar and following tax law. I’ve rendered a lot of advice and righted a lot of wrongs, and I must say that what you’ve put up makes perfect sense. Please carry on the good work – the more individuals know the better they’ll be armed to comprehend with the tax man, and that’s what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

