Toronto’s New “Revenue Tools”: My Response

As I reported a couple of weeks ago, the City of Toronto has invited input on the proposed new taxes authorized by the Province of Ontario under the City of Toronto Act:

Want to send comments?

Write: Revenue Tools
Toronto City Hall
100 Queen St. W., 5th floor, east tower
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2
Call: Access Toronto 416-338-0338. TTY 416-338-0889.

Comments will be accepted until June 1st, 2007.

I finally got around to submitting my comments. Here they are:


Subject: New Taxes in Toronto


Dear Mayor Miller,
As a small businessman living and operating in the City of Toronto, I would like to strongly object to any and all new taxes sanctioned by the City of Toronto act.
You’ve heard all the arguments by small business people before, so I’ll make it simple: I won’t leave my home in [], so I’ll just have to eat any additional taxes you impose on property. But I have only two years remaining on my business lease here at [], and I promise you, I will move my business North of Steeles in 2009 if any of these “revenue tools” are imposed.
-Neil Flagg-




1 Comment

Filed under Local Toronto Politics, Political Idiocy, Politicians

One response to “Toronto’s New “Revenue Tools”: My Response

  1. MA

    This is an email I got from a Campus PC person, fyi:
    Hello friends,

    I just want to thank all of you who wrote into your Councillors on Friday about voting NO to Miller’s taxes.

    The fight isn’t over!

    The vote is TOMORROW, Monday July 16. City Councillors who are voting against it are asking for as many people as possible to come to City Hall tomorrow before the vote to show how many people are against the taxes.

    If you can, please show up for the City Council meeting starting at 9:30 a.m. at Council Chambers, City Hall, 100 Queen Street West.

    For your convenience, here is a listing of how councillors will be voting:

    YES (In FAVOUR of the new taxes, aka Miller’s Cronies)
    Brian Ashton
    Shelley Carroll
    Janet Davis
    Glenn De Baeremaeker
    Paula Fletcher
    Adam Giambrone
    Adrian Heaps
    Norm Kelly
    Gloria Lindsay Luby
    Pam McConnell
    Joe Mihevc
    David Miller
    Howard Moscoe
    Joe Panatalone
    Gord Perks
    Kyle Rae
    Adam Vaughan

    NO (AGAINST Miller’s taxes)
    Paul Ainslie
    Mike Del Grande
    Mike Feldman
    Rob Ford
    Doug Holyday
    Cliff Jenkins
    Chin Lee
    Peter Milczyn
    Denzil Minnan-Wong
    Ron Moeser
    Frances Nunziata
    Case Ootes
    John Parker
    Cesar Palacio
    David Shiner
    Karen Stintz
    Micahel Thompson

    Sandra Bussin
    Raymond Cho
    Frank Di Giorgio
    Mark Grimes
    Suzan Hall
    Bill Saundercock

    “Unavailable” > REMEMBER this during the next election
    Maria Augimeri
    John Filion
    Giorgio Mammoliti
    Anthony Perruzza
    Michael Walker


    If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s